Armature Lifting

Today I completed my lifting animations. I did these under the method of stop motion because I wanted to try something different than Maya. My animation consisted of the armature walking past 2 blocks, 1 big one and 1 small one. The armature notices these and stops to look at them. He stands there and thinks then decided that he wants to pick them up. As he picks up the bigger one he doesn’t realize how heavy it is and falls over from the weight of it. When he finally gets back up he gets angry at the bigger box and then goes and picks up the small block and places it on top of the bigger one. He then stands there at the end looking contempt with himself.

The problems which I have noticed with this animation is that some of the moments in it look quite jittery because of how I have moved the armature and props, another thing I noticed was that you could see my shadow in the animation a few times also. The next time when creating a stop motion animation I will need to make sure that I stand far enough back that I don’t get in the way of the animation. The last thing I noticed which wasn’t very good about it was that it sped up in some parts and the movements didn’t look human or realistic at all, i mainly noticed this towards the end because I think I sped up the time of the animation. Next time I will make sure to take care of the timings and dedicate enough time and precision to each parts of the animation in order to keep the movements consistent and effective. Other than these issues which I noticed I think that the animation turned out pretty well in the end.

This is a link to the video!

Leave a comment