Starting My New Scene On Maya

Today I also started production on my new idea for a scene in Maya, this would be acting towards what I mentioned in the previous post and avoiding the limitations which I mentioned too. Below you can see my processes and steps to how I created the first steps.

Firstly, after setting the project, creating my polygon adding the splicing points and transforming the shape I created my island. This was the main feature of the scene so I had to add detailing to the design. It wasn’t very elevated and was close to being flat, I made sure that any elevation was smooth all over without any sharp edges.

P1

Next, I created the background. This is going to consist of mountains surrounding the island. I added a huge amount of connector points onto a polygon cube and tranformed it into the image below. This time around I wanted to try with a different type of mountain and allow for a type which would fit more in a mountain range.P2

With this I duplicated the original mountain and modified it a little bit to look different and have some chnage in the scene. I then duplicated them both again transformed them and placed all the mountains around the island. The shot below is a pre visual of what it will look like inside of the mountain range.

Pre Vis Mountains

This image below is a shot of my whole scene so far, it shows all the mountains I used and how they are set up to surround the island to create the visual of the mountain range. Scene Vis

Overall I think the scene will look very good once everything is textured. With the amount of handles added I will probably have to modify some of them once I have applied the texture. From looking at the pre-visual pictures the mountains have a lot of bumps which is what I wanted so I am happy with that, the only thing now is to see how it all looks with textures applied then I can move on and improve my Maya scene.

Leave a comment