Creating The Final Prop A Slot Machine

Today I also started my final prop which was a 1960’s style Slot Machine. I again had to create this on Maya with the same rules as all the previous designs. I did some research to no prevail but thankfully my clients had a good image to reference found on their pinterest board located here. This is a nice design to follow for this prop you can find the image below. This image is really helpful and good to use as reference because it has a lot of features included on it along with the old fashioned style. Even though I won’t copy this exactly I will use parts of this design in order to create my version.

ref

Firstly, I went over to photoshop and designed the different sections, I included a base colour for the front along with a section with the numbers on it in order to achieve the slot machine look. On the left is the base texture and on the right is the one with the 3 sevens on it.

 

Next I moved over to Maya and started creating my Slot Machine. I started this by using a polygon cube and adding splicing points to morph my design. I managed to get the screen and the coin deposit secion complete in this first bit but I will have to add the next few parts externally. Below you can see my progress so far. p1

Afterwards I moved onto texturing the sections which I had completed for my slot machine, it turned out quite well and this has allowed me now to see where the extra detail can be added throughout the design. Below you can see this process.p2

Following this I started to add my detailing to this design I included my 7’s texture along with a handle and spinners onto the slot machine. I also added a light for the top and boardered off the prop with metal edges. Belo w you can see it all put together.p3

Finally, I added my slot machine to the pub blockout and transformed it to reach the right size. Below you can see my slot machine in the pub blockout. With this set up I had finished with this prop.

final

Overall I really like designing this slot machine, it challenged me a lot by using all of the tools and methods in which I had used earlier to create this final product. I feel as though it doesn’t 100% meet what my clients wanted but I will hopefully get feedback for it and do the necessary changes once I find them out.

After uploading all of my designs I will need to message my clients and also find out what they think of my designs for the props overall and if I need to do any fixes, changes or remakes I will carry out what needs to be done in order to reach their desired final outcome they are hoping for.

Leave a comment